19 Responses to “Help us choose a logo for our new web app!”


  1. 1 Anonymous Fan September 14, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Nice logos guys, pretty excited to see what your yummy software will do.

    I like the basic idea of both logos which have three elements, an icon, the product name, and a tagline.

    I will discuss the icons.

    The first icon makes me think of a price tag. If you are going to compete with zestimates then it makes sense.

    The second icon I dislike, but only because I might not understand what you are trying to do. I see it and immediately think of conversation about real estate, yet your tag line indicates that “discussing” real estate is last. It might be the perfect icon, but only if the tagline changes or is better explained (perhaps discussion being last means it is the most important or the conclusion of the preceding two activities?).

    Congratulations guys, I already expect lightning to strike a second time.

  2. 2 Kristen September 15, 2008 at 9:16 am

    I like the 2nd logo. Obviously real estate related which sits well with the consumer and the talk bubble shows communication – which is what (I’m guessing) you’re doing…communicating saved real estate related stuffs. Great job.

  3. 3 Michae Wurzer September 15, 2008 at 9:34 am

    I’d combine the two — the logo from the second and the text from the first.

  4. 4 David September 15, 2008 at 9:52 am

    Very nice.

    The logo for #1 doesn’t seem like as strong of a concept as the logo for #2. What I mean by that is this: When I see the logo for #2 I instantly understand what it is communicating, when I see #1…yeah, the price tag thing comes to mind. Also the tag on your luggage that tells people to please, for the love of God, call me if you find this…But I don’t think that’s what you’re going for.

    Anon. made some good points, though. Unless discussion is your primary purpose, #2 might not communicate the right ideas. I dislike the font choice on #2. I understand why you went with it, but I think the logo idea can stand on its own and doesn’t need to be reinforced by a font that supports it. As Michae said, I’d like to see a combination of #1 and #2, becasuse the font from #1 works. If you want to italizice something, I’d go with the tagline.

    I think most internet users will pick up on the delicious reference, and I think that’s another great way of communicating what you’re all about. Do you run into any trademark issues with that?

    Final thing, totally nitpicky. I’m kind of going crazy about the lack of . after the word ‘discuss’ in #2. Probably most people won’t…but.

  5. 5 Dad September 15, 2008 at 9:54 am

    I like #1 but not the price-tag graphic. Substitute the balloon graphic from #2. I prefer the font in #1; it’s easier to read at a glance. I don’t like “organize. share. discuss” because it’s not as direct and obvious as “real estate bookmarking”. But if you use #2, change it to “organize, share, discuss” or “organize; share; discuss”.

  6. 6 Greg Robertson September 15, 2008 at 10:56 am

    We’ve got an awful lot of you sending emails in with your input. DON’T BE SHY! We want to see a lot more of your comments on this thread!

    And don’t forget that we will be posting more logo designs later this week.

  7. 7 Brooke September 15, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Looking forward to seeing what you have developed this time around!

    I like the idea of #2, but the font is a bit to juvenile for my taste. I prefer the font on #1. The graphic for #2 conveys the right idea…something to do with discussing real estate and the tag line ties it all together. It’s a good start!

  8. 8 Janna September 15, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    not having full information, such as market focus, vision, image, attitude, target audience, character of the company/brand, my comments are as follows:

    1. logo #1

    a. Font looks more modern, clean and professional.
    b. Although tag line is tied with the “house bookmark” image well, I’m a bit confused by it.
    c. I like the font color separation in “dwellicious” – catchy, creative, and dynamic.

    2. Logo #2

    a. italics makes it look bunched up together and too ‘busy’
    b. I like the tag line, how about merging the 2 logos, i.e. take logo #1 font and apply to logo #2’s image and tag line.

    3. question – is the little bug in front of web address supposed to look like the Volkswagen’s logo? http://www.vw.com/

    hope this helps! 🙂

  9. 9 Mom September 15, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I like #1. The font is easier to read. As a woman I like the the look of a price tag. Instead of a string perhaps you could have the house logo hanging from the hole of a house key.

  10. 10 Batcave September 15, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    I like #1 because it looks like Real Estate marketing. # 2 does not say anything about Real Estate and therefore it is a wasted logo.

  11. 11 therewasanincident September 16, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    The price tag format is a call to a transaction while the word bubble motif is an invitation to a conversation. Not knowing you model it’s hard to say which is superior. The price tag has that thin whispy string thing and that will be more difficult to render while the word bubble will be simpler to intgrate into various user interface elements.

    All things equal, I’d go with the word bubble
    – Sam

  12. 12 Bill Miller September 16, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Gentlemen … Both have some really good components, my gut says that their will be a very different reaction based upon gender … the gift tag idea is a good positive for closing on a home but I like the house in the dialog bubble much better for what I guess is the future strength of your site, open dialog, … the type font in #1 is/would be considered timeless by most logo type designers I’ve known but for me appears hard, stiff and maybe a bit out of date so I like the font on #2 better but think that perhaps the type font could be improved … the tag line on #1 will work for many people in the know up front but may not be understood by the majority so I say go with the tag line in #2 which is very descriptive … Bill

  13. 13 Want 2 see you guys Succeed September 16, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    # 2 much friendlier I believe the font is what makes the difference here. Font on #1 makes it uninviting and it sort of bores me. I like the house tag and the house bubble the same.

  14. 14 Rick September 16, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    The tag line organize – share – discuss is solid and I like the straight font better than the curly cue italics. Not getting a total green light feeling on either icon.

    Good stuff, can’t wait to see where it goes from here.

  15. 15 Janna September 25, 2008 at 11:33 am

    both #3 & #4 logos are well designed and I like a combination of things from both:
    #3 – the look is clean, unified image
    #4 – definately delivers the message, but the shape and size of logo may be difficult to intergrate in publications, aads, etc. due to it’s size.

  16. 16 Eric October 29, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Personally, I like the pic in logo 2 the best because it seems to advertise the act of communicating. With the font, I would use logo 1. Why not use both tag lines? Both of them could possibly be used. Unless it needs to be condensed…


  1. 1 items for 09.15.2008 « Tzetze Fly Trackback on September 15, 2008 at 7:52 am
  2. 2 Second set of logo drafts are here! « Lightning | Twice Trackback on September 17, 2008 at 8:10 am
  3. 3 Cloud CMA Logorama! « Lightning | Twice Trackback on October 29, 2009 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

