15 Responses to “Second set of logo drafts are here!”


  1. 1 Matt Cohen September 17, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I like the character of the lettering from logo 3 versus the bland lettering of logo 4. I also like the right aligned tagline. The composition is right, as are the proportions.

    Logo 4 – the image communicates SO much more than logo 3, but the proportions of that logo may be problematic – most logos are proportioned like logo 3, and if a designer conforms your logo to match the height of other logos, say on a banner, they’ll have to shrink your logo down a lot.

  2. 2 Rob September 17, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Go w/ the price tag idea from the first one. Makes sense and stands out more than the others. have the designer create a few font variations from that design and you something good.

  3. 3 Rick September 17, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I like the first logo because it is balanced and symmetrical but the softer font and curved edges on the graphic keep it from being too mechancical looking with hard edges. This logo would look good on hats and shirts (always an important consideration).

    The second logo appeals to me because symbolically it really hits on what you are trying to do with the site. It is more assymetrical and kind of floats, that a subjective observation, I don’t think there is anything “wrong” with not having a balanced look.

    If I had to pick it would be the first one.

  4. 4 Michae Wurzer September 17, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I still think the combo of text from 1 and logo from 2 is better than either 3 or 4. I especially like the tagline “real estate bookmarking”, which is clear to me, whereas “organize, share, discuss” seems too generic.

  5. 5 Paul September 17, 2008 at 11:08 am

    I think all four have their unique qualities. Of all the images thus far, I think the one that stands out the most is the “House” tag in number 1, but I am still not completely sold on any of the 4.

    I do prefer the tag line to be right justified as it makes it more symmetrical with the image on the left. As far as text in the tagline, neither really jumps out at me. From the average person not knowing what the company does, the “organize. share. discuss” is too generic to know what they do. Actually, knowing the concept, it is still too generic to me. The “real estate bookmarking” is great to someone who knows what the company does, but not necessarily to the opposite.

    The 4 different fonts used also don’t really jump out at me. If I had to choose one, I would probably lean toward the one in logo 2, as it has more character. I would wonder how something like a comic sans font would look.

  6. 6 Dave Howe September 17, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Greg/Dan,

    It doesn’t really matter what you do with the logo! With that said, you two are, without question, the undisputed leaders in innovation of real estate products in the country! Having worked with both of you and the products you have brought the industry for over 13 years you two have proven to have the ability to deliver relevant and intuitive business solutions to the working class real estate professionals, successfully, time and time again.

    Keep up the great work!

    Sincerely,

    David Howe
    Regional MLS Coordinator
    MetroList Services Inc.
    Sacramento, California

    P.S. I like logo Draft 3

  7. 7 Diane September 17, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Of the 4 logos #3 is my personal favorite. I like the font, the bolding stands out on the word dwell. I like the roof line, it immediately makes me think of housing. I’m excited to see what you guys will develope this time.
    Long time fan.

  8. 8 sam September 17, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    The logo from #2, with the typeface and tagline from #4.

    The roof line on #3 looks like “The Claw” from Toy Story or some funky hat, lose it.

    #4 is just a more complex take on the #2 concept. You don’t need the complexity. The overlapping caption bubbles imply conversation, but have the appearance of an euler diagram. The dual points coming from below create an ambiguity that will be difficult and possibly confusing to integrate into the iconology of your U/I.

    The logo portion of #2 is cleaner and simpler and works well either small or large. The single point off the bottom of the bubble wouls also be easy to use as a pointer tag in your U/I.

  9. 9 Wosty September 17, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Number 3. Although I think the curved bottom corners of the roof (while it matches the font) makes it look a little bit like the top of a Mosque. (Maybe that’s a subtle effect you want as I know you are both quite deep…) I’d go with a more conventional roof. I wish you the best!

  10. 10 Tim Fears September 17, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Definitely #4… Matt has valid points, but I like the way that convergence of the bubbles around the house icon is very symbolic and immediately grabbed my eye. Good luck.

  11. 11 David September 17, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    I like the look and feel of Draft Logo 3. It has a modern and fresh look and I think it captures the market you are in.

  12. 12 Matt Lavallee September 18, 2008 at 6:30 am

    I vote #3 — it puts the brand first and will work well on identity collateral; #4 would be a challenge to keep readable on polos, pens, etc. I’d also look to putting the roof cap over the D, so that you have a recognizable micro-icon.

    -Matt

  13. 13 Mark S September 18, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    The icon with the merging bubbles in #4 is amazing, it tells such a good story, definitely incorporate it. Its a little busy with the icon, the tagline, and the product name, but whatever. I wonder if someone could make the i’s in dwellicious into people and the dots of the i’s would be the base of the bubbles?

    That might be a little complicated, but it looks to me like if you pointed the base triangles of the bubbles inward, they would line up with the i-dots.

    The reason I love the icon is that it tells me that this product is about discussion, and when two sides of a discussion come together the conclusion is a HOME.

    I don’t know if that is what the product is about, but it has me excited, so start coding that!


  1. 1 2nd round of logo concepts for dwellicious up now! « Vendor Alley Trackback on September 17, 2008 at 10:01 am
  2. 2 items for 09.19.2008 « Tzetze Fly Trackback on September 19, 2008 at 1:52 pm

Leave a Reply

