Dwellicious bookmarks aren’t just for listings anymore!

Check this out! Dan added some pretty cool stuff in the latest version of Dwellicious.

Now when you add a non-property bookmark the “Add to Dwellicious” button will take a snapshot of the webpage. This will then show up on your bookmarks page.

See below. I’ve created a bookmark for Jay Thompson’s Blog and NAR’s latest housing report.

new-bookmarks

Dan also updated the Create Bookmark window with new messaging and functionality.

Only 13 days left until the official launch of Dwellicious Pro!

8 Responses to “Dwellicious bookmarks aren’t just for listings anymore!”


  1. 1 Mike Wilton December 24, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    I’ve gotta be honest, I find this news a little disappointing. While it obviously adds some additional functionality to the site I think it takes away from the original purpose and reason for why Dwellicious was developed. The concept was to give people a place to stash real estate listings and come back to them later. While I know the site still offers a number of other useful features related to real estate, I think opening the site up to bookmark anything and everything will ultimately take away from user experience.

  2. 2 Greg Robertson December 24, 2008 at 3:16 pm

    Thanks for the comment Mike. This new feature will make more sense once we launch the Dwellicious Pro edition. We think that agents/brokers will want a way to have their clients quickly visit their Advanced Access website, blog or maybe other business associates website (lender, carpet guy, etc) that they work with and trust.

    I don’t see consumers really using it that much, just the real estate professionals. But as I’m typing this I’m wondering if we should make this a feature only available in Dwellicious Pro.

    Not sure if this can be done because you were always able to create bookmarks from any site, we have a growing real estate that were optimized for Dwellicious. But people may want to bookmark a real estate site that we are not (currently) optimized to work with.

    Thanks again for the input.

  3. 3 Mike Wilton December 24, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Greg you have a good point regarding the fact that you could essentially bookmark any website anyways, I guess it’s just that before it wasn’t promoted that way. However, I do have an idea that may interest you.

    My concern right now is that bogus profiles could essentially be generated to throw links at any site they want. As a user viewing other people’s profiles I don’t want to come across junk profiles like that. I know at the moment the beta links are followed, is this going to be the case even after the site is out of beta? If so you might consider making it so that non real estate site links get nofollowed. Then as an added bonus to a Pro account non real estate links could be followed.

    Link spammers won’t be interested in a nofollow link, and they sure as hell aren’t going to pay for a Pro account. That will allow pro members who build up their profile and links the ability to gain some value from their links even if they aren’t going to some of the sites Dwellicious has been optimized for.

    I really like what you guys are doing with the service though. Keep up the great work. I look forward to seeing what Dwellicious has to offer in the future!

  4. 4 Jay - Phoenix Real Estate Guy December 25, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Well at least you bookmarked the right blog! 😉

    I see where Mike is coming from, but I kind of like to ability to add sites that aren’t just listings. While listings may get 99% (or some huge majority) of the bookmarks, the ability to add in other sites that help the user “flesh out” those listings with additional info may be handy for some. FOr others, maybe not so much — but then they don’t really have to use that feature…

    Looking forward to meeting you all at Inman Connect and learning more about Dwellicious!

  5. 5 Dan Woolley December 28, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    @Matt – I think your idea about the nofollow on non-listing bookmarks is excellent. I went ahead and left Pro bookmarks alone – those will be followed – but added nofollow to all consumer non-listing bookmarks. Thanks for the idea!

  6. 6 Kristi January 1, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I can’t wait to check it out next week! Good luck on the launch!

    @Greg – I also had to come here to comment on what a beautiful family you have 🙂 I saw your Christmas card at John & Jerra’s house, your children are adorable! John was quizzing me on the new venture, I told him I would have to tell him more when it was unveiled!

  7. 7 Greg Robertson January 1, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    @Kristi

    Thanks! Cole and Toby just had their birthdays. Cole turned 4 and Toby just turned 2. Plus we have another on the way (a girl!) It’s going to be a crazy year!

  8. 8 Mike Wilton January 1, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    @Dan

    Glad I could help! I’ll be playing some more with Dwellicious after the first of the year. I’ve just been so tied up with the holidays and client work that I haven’t had a whole lot of free time. I look forward to seeing what more Dwellicious has to offer in the coming year!


Leave a Reply

