Cue weird Australian music….

Walkabout New Logo
It’s time to hit the streets. We reached a bit of a plateau and we need to spread the word to the people. In this case the people I’m talking about are real estate agents and the word is Dwellicious!

Dwellicious is going strong. We already have well over 3,000 subscribers, and a lot of those are paying Dwellicious Pro accounts. And as many of you know Inman News had recently announced Dwellicious as a finalist in the Inman Innovator Award under the “Most Innovative New Technology” category.

We always knew that consumers would embrace the service. And recently we’ve been noticing a nice uptick with them.

We also knew that, for your average real estate agent, Dwellicious would be a challenge. So that is why we have been focusing on finding web savvy agents.

But I’m up for a challenge! And that’s why for the last couple weeks I’ve been hitting the streets and going in to real estate offices and local associations.

I’ve decided to blog about this journey. The word “Walkabout” seem appropriate. Wikipedia defines Walkabout as:

“Walkabout refers to a rite of passage where male Australian Aborigines would undergo a journey during adolescence and live in the wilderness for a period as long as six months.”

I started my first company, IRIS, here in Orange County and have walked these same streets before. Many of the players are the same, some have changed. So it feels like I’m going back in time, to when I first started in this crazy business.

So I hope you will follow me on my journey in to the real estate wilderness.

gr

8 Responses to “Cue weird Australian music….”


  1. 1 Victor LUnd July 24, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Nothing better than the smell of burning shoe leather. Beats smiling and dialing any day.

  2. 2 Bryan Ehrenreund July 25, 2009 at 9:53 am

    Nothing like good ole feet on the street and pounding the pavement for a dose of sales reality. I highly recommend it for anyone contemplating a career in sales. Nothing like face to face rejection!

    Oh what memories which I’m about to join you and partake in my own journey very shortly. We can compare and who know could be the makings of a new best seller?

    Just remember this ancient Chinese Proverb and you’ll be fine…“To get through the hardest journey we need take only one step at a time, but we must keep on stepping”.

  3. 3 Maggie July 25, 2009 at 10:32 am

    My first thought upon reading this post was I wanted to give you a good gorilla nickname, for your “guerrilla” marketing approach (according to the wiki definition of “unexpected and unconventional; potentially interactive”). But all I could come up with was Cousin Louie from The Jungle Book (I think he was a baboon) who was eager to learn to use fire, and Travis, the chimp who attacked her owner’s friend after a dose of Xanax.. hmm. Maybe my best wishes for your walkabout are that you harness the power of fire, stay away from Xanax, and do more than “potentially” interact!

  4. 4 Greg Robertson July 25, 2009 at 11:08 am

    @Maggie Sage advice indeed. Although after this adventure I might need a couple Xanax AND a shot of tequila!

    So when are you gonna organize a time for me to come to your Altera office so I can demo Dwellicious? : )

  5. 5 Greg Robertson July 25, 2009 at 11:11 am

    @Bryan Maybe you could sell a ClipFree coupon for real estate offices offering 4.5%? ; )

  6. 6 M Realty July 27, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    See the movie “Australia” and you learn a little bit about that and the aboriginal way of life. On the Dwellicious topic, I played with it, and its pretty cool. I am interested to see what the next step is, it feels like it is just about to be something but isnt quite yet. What is it missing before it is the Twitter of Real Estate bookmarking?

    -Tyler

  7. 7 DezArnez August 25, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Was thinking this was a good Australian tune for your site.


  1. 1 My new blog series… « Vendor Alley Trackback on July 25, 2009 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

